Overseas Territories around the World

Maps of UK, US, France and Australia Exclusive Economic Zones [EEZ]This is a handy list featuring all overseas territories and dependencies around the World. This extensive list includes an incredible 78 territories, but many of these territories also contain multiple territories within themselves – such as multiple island groups administered together for handiness.

Many of these territories are the residue of the past global colonisation by European powers, but there are some listed which represent the new imperialistic intentions of the West, most notably the United States.

This list includes inhabited and uninhabited territories, comprising of reefs, islands and areas of continental landmass. Some of these dependencies operate almost independently, others have some autonomy, whilst the remainder are administered by the governing nation.

All of these foreign dependencies represent strategic and/or economic importance to their governing nation, and they can also potentially hold the same importance to other nearby nations in some cases too, which can lead to disputes over these territories.

According to the United Nations’ Law of the Sea, those who govern a territory have control over underwater/underground exploration – and the control of marine resources – up to 200 nautical miles from its coast. This area is called the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ).

Full List of Overseas Territories

Overseas Dependency Continent(s) Governing Nation(s)
Akrotiri and Dhekelia Europe / Asia United Kingdom
Aland Islands Europe Finland
American Samoa Oceania United States
Anguilla North America United Kingdom
Argentine Antarctica [3] Antarctica Argentina
Aruba North America Netherlands
Ashmore & Cartier Islands [3] Oceania Australia
Australian Antarctic Territory [3] Antarctica Australia
Bajo Nuevo Bank (Petrel Islands) [3] North America United States / Colombia [1]
Bonaire North America Netherlands
Bouvet Island [3] Antarctica Norway
Bermuda North America United Kingdom
British Antarctic Territory [3] Antarctica United Kingdom
British Indian Ocean Territory Asia United Kingdom
British Virgin Islands North America United Kingdom
Cayman Islands North America United Kingdom
Ceuta Africa Spain
Chilean Antarctic Territory [3] Antarctica Chile
Christmas Island Asia Australia
Clipperton Island [3] North America France
Cocos (Keeling) Islands Asia Australia
Cook Islands [2] Oceania New Zealand
Coral Sea Islands [3] Oceania Australia
Curacao North America Netherlands
Easter Island Oceania Chile
Falkland Islands South America United Kingdom
Faroe Islands Europe Denmark
Federated States of Micronesia [5] Oceania United States
French Guiana (Guyane) South America France
French Polynesia Oceania France
French Southern & Antarctic Lands [3] Africa / Antarctica / Asia / Oceania France
Guernsey Europe United Kingdom
Gibraltar Europe United Kingdom
Greenland North America Denmark
Guadeloupe North America France
Guam Oceania United States
Heard Island & McDonald Islands [3] Antarctica Australia
Isle of Man Europe United Kingdom
Hawaii [6] Oceania United States
Hong Kong [4] Asia China
Jan Mayen [3] Europe Norway
Jersey Europe United Kingdom
Macau [4] Asia China
Madeira Africa Portugal
Marshall Islands [5] Oceania United States
Martinique North America France
Mayotte Africa France
Melilla Africa Spain
Montserrat North America United Kingdom
Navassa Island [3] North America United States
New Caledonia Oceania France
Niue [2] Oceania New Zealand
Norfolk Island Oceania Australia
Northern Mariana Islands Oceania United States
Palau [5] Oceania United States
Peter I Island [3] Antarctica Norway
Puerto Rico North America United States
Pitcairn Islands Oceania United Kingdom
Queen Maud Land [3] Antarctica Norway
Réunion Africa France
Ross Dependency [3] Antarctica New Zealand
Saba North America Netherlands
Saint Barthélemy North America France
Saint Helena, Ascension & Tristan da Cunha Africa United Kingdom
Saint Martin North America France
Saint Pierre & Miquelon North America France
San Andrés y Providencia North America Colombia
Serranilla Bank [3] North America United States / Colombia [1]
Sint Eustatius North America Netherlands
Sint Maarten North America Netherlands
South Georgia & The South Sandwich Islands [3] South America United Kingdom
Svalbard Europe Norway
Tokelau Oceania New Zealand
Turks & Caicos Islands North America United Kingdom
US Pacific Island Wildlife Refuges (Baker Island, Howland Island, Jarvis Island, Johnston Atoll, Kingman Reef, Midway Islands, Palmyra Atoll) [3] Oceania United States
US Virgin Islands North America United States
Wake Island [3] Oceania United States
Wallis and Futuna Oceania France

[1] Both the United States and Colombia claim ownership, and both administer them seperately.

[2] This is an independent self-governing nation, but in a free association with New Zealand. New Zealand holds some control over external and defence matters.

[3] No permanent population.

[4] Hong Kong and Macau are ‘Special Administrative Regions’ administered by China. You will find lots of datasets on this website which include them as individual stand alone countries, due to a combination of having a history of being treated as such, their population sizes and their precieved status within the international community. Hong Kong was handed over to China by the United Kingdom in 1997, and Macau was handed over by Portugal in 1999 to China.

[5] This is an independent self-governing nation, but in a free association with the United States, which controls defence, social services, and funding grants.

[6] Hawaii is considered a state within the United States, and it may be inaccurate to call it an ‘overseas dependency’, but it is an overseas territory.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *